We are a network of faculty and professionals who strive to:  

We provide a framework for students to:

Core faculty

Every semester, core faculty provide feedback to current Fellows. Some semesters there are less, and some there are more. The snapshot provided here is meant to reflect the ongoing semester, while other facultly who regularly contribute or have contributed in the past are listed in the section below. 

Jacek Dzikowski

Senior Lecturer of Computer Science

Carly Kocurek

Professor of Digital Humanities and Media Studies, Director of Graduate Studies


Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics

Sonja Petrović

Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics

Gorjana Popović

Associate Teaching Professor, Applied Mathematics 

Hannah Ringler

Assistant Teaching Professor & Director of Communication Across the Curriculum

Despina Stasi

Associate Teaching Professor of Statistics, Applied Mathematics 

Affiliated faculty

Yuhan Ding

Associate Teaching Professor of Applied Mathematics, Program Director of Master of Data Science

Robert Ellis

Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics

Matthew Bauer

Senior Lecturer of Computer Science

Mustafa Bilgic

Associate Professor of Computer Science, Program Director Master of Artificial Intelligence

Chun Liu

Professor of Applied Mathematics, Chair Applied Mathematics

Cynthia Hood

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, Associate Chair Computer Science 

Mohamed El Marzouki

Assistant Professor of Communication, Humanities

Hemanshu Kaul

Associate Professor Applied Mathematics, Co-Director, M.S. in Computational Decision Science and Operations Research (CDSOR)

Elisabeth Hildt

Professor of Philosophy, Director, Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions

Ivan Mutis

Assistant Professor of Civil and Architectural Engineering

Brent Stephens

Professor of Architectural Engineering, Director of ArchEng, Director of Environmental Engineering

Fouad Teymour

S.C. Jonhson Professor of Chemical Engineering, Director of the Center for Complex Systems and Dynamics 

Irmak Turan

Assistant Professor of Architecture

María A. Villalobos H.

Associate Professor of Architecture, Coordinator of the third year of the Master on Landscape Architecture and Urbanism


Fellows work on their proposed solo or team projects, sometimes collaboratively. 

Looking for the list of current and past Fellows? Check this page

Associate Fellows work in collaboration with one of the main projects listed above, offering an interdisciplinary lens critical to expanding the project impact. 

We are always looking to add more people to the team - reach out & connect!


Weslynne Ashton

Associate Professor at the Stuart School of Business and the Institute of Design, Illinois Tech

A. Jean-Luc Ayitou

Associate Professor of Chemistry, UIC College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and Illinois Tech's Department of Chemistry

Alicia Bunton

Director of Community Affairs, Illinois Tech

Nik Rokkop

Coleman Foundation Clinical Associate Professor of Entrepreneurship, Stuart School of Business; Director, Master of Technological Entrepreneurship, Illinois Tech

Charles Uth

Senior Engineering Librarian, Paul V. Galvin Library, Illinois Tech

Former faculty who helped the program in the early stages

Matthew Dixon

Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics

Mar Hicks

Mar was an Associate Professor of History at Illinois Tech until Fall 2023. They were a critical member of SoReMo in the first two years of the program. 

Laura Forlano

Laura was an Associate Professor, Institute of Design. She led the application for llinois Tech to join the Public Interest Technology University Network in 2022.  

Christopher Rudd

Instructor and Lead, Chicago Design Lab, Institute of Design, Lead Activator, ChiByDesign
This could be you! 

Want to join the collaboration? Reach out & connect!